I was born in Tallassee, Tennessee - East Tennessee.  At age 9, Mom made me take piano lessons for a year, which then led to a second year. When I was 14, Mom knew I wanted to learn guitar, so for Christmas she gave me my first guitar. Back then, I loved The Beatles, Bob Dylan, Black Sabbath, Pink Floyd... (I still love all of those). At age 15, I started a band and I was the lead vocalist and lead guitar player. About four years later we were offered a deal, but we turned it down. Shortly after that, the band split and we went our separate ways. I studied music business for a year at MTSU, but decided that wasn't really what I wanted to do. In 2009 I earned a bachelor's degree from the University of Tennessee with a concentration in Studio Music and Jazz. During, and after college, I freelanced for various bands around the Eastern United States. I had the opportunity to play music in China for 6 months, 7 days a week, with some of my closest friends. Oddly enough, while in China, I started listening to (and loving) country music. I was offered another contract to stay in China, but declined because I wanted to come back to play country music. After returning to the states, I played country music for a small label's various artists in East Tennessee. Some of the people I met during that time knew Laurel. It was a friend from that group who called me that night to fill in on guitar with Laurel. I come from a music loving family; I have very supportive parents, step-parents, brothers and grandparents. I've worked with a lot of musicians, but knew from the moment we started working and writing together that Laurel and I had something very special.